Home > 2009 Season > Vettel on pole in Turkey

Vettel on pole in Turkey

June 6th, 2009

Sebastian Vettel, Turkey, 2009Sebastian Vettel has claimed his second pole position of the season in qualifying for Sunday’s Turkish Grand Prix.

The German’s time of 1:28.316 was enough to take the number one grid slot from Brawn GP’s Jenson Button.

Vettel’s team mate Mark Webber briefly had the fastest time in Q3 but will start behind Vettel tomorow on the second row, alongside Rubens Barrichello.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton missed out on getting through to the second qualifying session for the second time in a row.  While the team had been cautiously optimistic about their chances in Turkey this weekend, Hamilton seemed to lack confidence and struggled for grip in the twitchy MP4-24.  He will start from 16th on the grid.

Lewis Hamilton said afterwards:

Our car seems to have got slower relative to the others as the grip has gone down on the track.  I pushed as hard as I could today but I just had no grip out there.

Force India’s Adrian Sutil made it to Q2 for the second time in a row and he will start from 15th on the grid tomorrow, between the two McLarens.

Despite a good performance in practice, Ferrari’s Felipe Massa will start from the fourth row of the grid behind team mate Kimi Raikkonen.  He will have a hard time making it four Turkish victories in a row from there.

The new double-decker diffuser fitted to the BMWs of Robert Kubica and Nick Heidfeld seemed to have helped a little, lifting Kubica into Q3, but the team are still firmly in the mid-field.  The Red Bull diffuser on the other hand was finally given a chance to work properly after the slow corners of Monaco and either of the Red Bull drivers could be on the podium on Sunday.

2009 Formula One Turkish Grand Prix Qualifying Results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 01:28.316
2 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 01:28.421
3 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 01:28.579
4 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 01:28.613
5 Jarno Trulli Toyota 01:28.666
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 01:28.815
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 01:28.858
8 Fernando Alonso Renault 01:29.075
9 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 01:29.191
10 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 01:29.357
11 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 01:27.521
12 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 01:27.629
13 Timo Glock Toyota 01:27.795
14 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 01:28.207
15 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 01:28.391
16 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 01:28.318
17 Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 01:28.582
18 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 01:28.708
19 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 01:28.717
20 Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari 01:28.918

Image: Red Bull Racing

Categories: 2009 Season Tags: , ,
Comments are closed.