Home > 2009 Season > Unstoppable Button wins again in Monaco

Unstoppable Button wins again in Monaco

May 24th, 2009

Rosberg passes Massa, Monaco, 2009Jenson Button has joined the ranks of Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell and Michael Schumacher by winning five out of the first six Grands Prix of the season when he drove to a flawless victory in Monaco on Sunday.

Even KERS couldn’t help Kimi Raikkonen to match the pace of the Brawn GP cars off the start and he dropped back to third behind Rubens Barrichello.

Ferrari must be encouraged by Kimi Raikkonen’s third place finish and Felipe Massa’s fourth, considering their woeful start to the season.  It gives them a nice haul of points and puts them fourth in the Constructors Championship.

Raikkonen might be happy for the team but he was disappointed not to finish higher:

Of course in the bigger picture I’m not happy with third place – I’m disappointed.  But, in this situation, for the team it’s a good result.

Despite the gains made by Ferrari the Brawn GP car just looks unstoppable now.  There doesn’t seem to be a circuit it is not suited to and Jenson Button’s driving is impressing even Ross Brawn:

I’m lost for words with him really. He’s exceeding everything I thought possible.

Button’s lead in the Drivers’ Championship is now 16 points over team mate Rubens Barrichello and 28 over Sebastian Vettel in third place.  Brawn GP lead the Constructor’s Championship by a massive 43.5 points, with more than twice as many points as Red Bull has in second place.

2009 Monaco Grand Prix Race Results

Pos Driver Team Grid Time Points
1 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 1 1:40:44.282 10
2 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 3 1:40:51.948 8
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 2 1:40:57.724 6
4 Felipe Massa Ferrari 5 1:40:59.392 5
5 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 8 1:41:00.012 4
6 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 6 1:41:17.868 3
7 Fernando Alonso Renault 9 1:41:22.121 2
8 Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso-Ferrari 14 1:41:47.424 1
9 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 13 1:41:49.322 0
10 Timo Glock Toyota 19 lapped 0
11 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 16 lapped 0
12 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 20 lapped 0
13 Jarno Trulli Toyota 18 lapped 0
14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 15 lapped 0
RET Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 10 crash, 76 laps 0
RET Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 7 crash, 51 laps 0
RET Robert Kubica BMW 17 retired, 28 laps 0
RET Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 4 crash, 15 laps 0
RET Nelson Piquet Jr Renault 12 retired, 10 laps 0
RET Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 11 crash, 10 laps 0

Image: David Keen

Categories: 2009 Season Tags: ,
Comments are closed.